Question about track altitude

All that has to do with the power train, gearbox, clutch, fuels and lubricants, etc. Generally the mechanical side of Formula One.
Renault-BAR
Renault-BAR

Question about track altitude

Hey, I'm a newbie here. I just want to know how the track's altitude plays into it's challenge. I also would like to know the altitude of a few of the highest tracks.

Thanks

marcush.
marcush.

i suppose you mean elevation changes.
Well ,a track like the A1 ring has several changes in elevation wich heavily influence the car setup.
there are several corners going uphill (end of pitstraight end and corner at the far end of the track but significantly the all important fast double lefthander as well as the doule apex corner leading to the pitstraight are both hanging to the outside as well as going downwards,so you have to compromise towards a setup with more understeer dialed in as usual wich is balanced out by the track going downwards.If you don´t do that you arive in thes corners with instant oversteer as soon as you look at the throttle.Same goes for the brakes you´d end up having more bias to the front as the weight is moving stronly forward as the track goes downwards giving you instability on applying the brakes if you leave the brakes as std.So it is an ideal site for the car with uncurable understeer trouble......of course altitude has lots of other implications...
aero,engine mapping,power,but it is as always ,you have to optimise what you have at hands...

Renault-BAR
Renault-BAR

Actually I meant the tracks overall altitude. Like whether it's located at a mountain or very low. I'm pretty sure at different elevations you've different winds and temperatures. Not to forget the dews. Btw, thanks for the insight on elevations.

Steven
Owner