Day without car

Breaking news, useful data or technical highlights or vehicles that are not meant to race. You can post commercial vehicle news or developments here.
Please post topics on racing variants in "other racing categories".
Ciro Pabón

Day without car

Bogota holds today the "Day without cars". How do you imagine a world without streets for cars? (of course, racetracks would continue to operate!).

Have fun, riding that bike...

http://vimeo.com/2086946
Ciro

Miguel
Miguel

Re: Day without car

Hi Ciro,

We also have something like that in some cities of Spain. At least in Bilbao (where I did my degree) they do. I should also know about Donostia too, since I've lived there for some 15 years and I still go there every other weekend.

However, the "day without car" initiative is more like a personal complaint than a true ban. That is, everybody can still drive if they want to, so traffic isn't noticeably reduced. You know, we've become lazy guys. Is it compulsory in Bogotá? If so, that'd be nice to see. One of the things I remember from the time I spent in Venice was how quiet was everywere once the tourists (i.e. me) were gone. No cars to disturb anything.

Also, historic centres in some cities in Spain are "peatonal", that is, only for walkers. That applies for the historic parts of Donostia and Bilbao, where the only vehicle you are likely to see is the "rubbish truck". I know that Avila is also similar, with basically one circle for cars inside the walls. In Pamplona I think that cars are only allowed near the Cathedral. I think there were cars in Salamanca, though.

But I don't know why I am telling you this. How's it like? Do you enjoy it? Also, how "comfortable" is Bogotá for riding a bike? Many ups and downs?
I am not amazed by F1 cars in Monaco. I want to see them driving in the A8 highway: Variable radius corners, negative banking, and extreme narrowings that Tilke has never dreamed off. Oh, yes, and "beautiful" weather tops it all.