Horizontal vs Vertical Suspension?

Breaking news, useful data or technical highlights or vehicles that are not meant to race. You can post commercial vehicle news or developments here.
Please post topics on racing variants in "other racing categories".
jsnyder49428
jsnyder49428

Horizontal vs Vertical Suspension?

I've noticed some cars have horizontal suspensions, like this:

http://cdn.24.com/files/Cms/General/d/9 ... d78f08.jpg

Why? It seems to be more common on high end sports cars and I doubt they would do it just to look cool. Is there some advantage over a regular suspension like this:

http://www.ferraricars.org/img/ferrari- ... ion-03.jpg

tommylommykins
tommylommykins

Re: Horizontal vs Vertical Suspension?

I'm no engineer, so feel free to shoot down any of my bombasting.

There is nominally no difference between the vertical and horizontal suspension systems there. You can set them up so they are basically identical.

There may be differences because of the fact that you can do some funky geometry by having more moving parts in between the spring and the point where it attaches to the wheel. The sort of thing you might be able to do here is make it harder to compress the suspension than it otherwise would be at the top or bottom of the suspension's travel.
Look at the wikipedia article on linkages for more information on this sort of stuff.

Because the horizontal setup doesn't doesn't have to have any effect on how the suspension works, it's possible that they decided to do this for better packaging of all tho components at the front, or to get easier access to the springs themselves.

Perhaps also, having the suspension arms meet in the middle aids rigidity a little bit, if you can get all the forces the car experiences into one place, then that's the only place that you really have to reinforce. The rest of the car could be made out of papier mache without having a negative effect

Mystery Steve
Mystery Steve